List of Ontario municipalities prohibiting or allowing cannabis retail stores

View a list showing which cities and towns in Ontario either allow or ban cannabis retail stores.

You've found a page that is still under construction!

Return to

Clicking this link will open in a new tab.

Learn more about our beta site and the website redesign project.

Ontario municipalities had a one-time option to opt-out of having cannabis retail stores in their communities. Municipalities had until January 22, 2019 to inform the AGCO if they wished to opt out. Municipalities that chose to opt out can opt back in at any time—but once they are in, they may no longer opt out.

If the AGCO did not received written notification from a municipality by January 22, 2019, then, by default, private cannabis retail stores will be allowed within that jurisdiction beginning April 1, 2019.

Municipality Status Date of resolution Sort descending
Ear Falls, Township of Opted-in
Spanish, Town of Opted-in
Hamilton, City of Opted-in
LaSalle, Town of Opted-in
Greenstone, Municipality of Opted-in
Bradford West Gwillimbury, Town of Opted-in
Blind River, Town of Opted-in
Greater Madawaska, Township of Opted-in
West Elgin, Municipality of Opted-in
Halton Hills, Town of Opted-in
London, City of Opted-in
Minden Hills, Township of Opted-in
Asphodel-Norwood, Township of Opted-in
Chamberlain, Township of Opted-in
Strong, Township of Opted-in
Essex, Town of Opted-in
Peterborough, County of Opted-in
Faraday, Township of Opted-in
Russell, Township of Opted-in
Admaston/Bromley, Township of Opted-in