Ontario municipalities had a one-time option to opt-out of having cannabis retail stores in their communities. Municipalities had until January 22, 2019 to inform the AGCO if they wished to opt out. Municipalities that chose to opt out can opt back in at any time—but once they are in, they may no longer opt out.

If the AGCO did not received written notification from a municipality by January 22, 2019, then, by default, private cannabis retail stores will be allowed within that jurisdiction beginning April 1, 2019.

(required for opt-outs only)
Municipality Statussort descending Date of resolution
Grey Highlands, Municipality of Opted-in -
Owen Sound, City of Opted-in -
Chapleau, Township of Opted-in Mon, 01/14/2019
Tillsonburg, Town of Opted-in -
North Dundas, Township of Opted-in -
Central Frontenac, Township of Opted-in -
Kirkland Lake, Town of Opted-in -
Ignace, Township of Opted-in -
Wasaga Beach, Town of Opted-in Mon, 01/07/2019
The North Shore, Township of Opted-in -
Faraday, Township of Opted-in -
Barrie, City of Opted-in -
Fauquier-Strickland, Township of Opted-in -
Arran-Elderslie, Municipality of Opted-in -
Timmins, City of Opted-in -
Stone Mills, Township of Opted-in -
Wilmot, Township of Opted-in -
Brooke-Alvinston, Municipality of Opted-in -
Prince, Township of Opted-in -
Drummond/North Elmsley, Township of Opted-in -


Help us improve the AGCO website

Complete a short survey