Ontario municipalities had a one-time option to opt-out of having cannabis retail stores in their communities. Municipalities had until January 22, 2019 to inform the AGCO if they wished to opt out. Municipalities that chose to opt out can opt back in at any time—but once they are in, they may no longer opt out.

If the AGCO did not received written notification from a municipality by January 22, 2019, then, by default, private cannabis retail stores will be allowed within that jurisdiction beginning April 1, 2019.

(required for opt-outs only)
Municipality Statussort ascending Date of resolution
Richmond Hill, Town of Opted-out Tue, 01/08/2019
Adjala-Tosorontio, Township of Opted-out Mon, 12/10/2018
Muskoka Lakes, Township of Opted-out Fri, 01/18/2019
Pickle Lake, Township of Opted-out Wed, 01/09/2019
St. Clair, Township of Opted-out Tue, 01/08/2019
McGarry, Township of Opted-out Tue, 01/08/2019
Deseronto, Town of Opted-in -
North Kawartha, Township of Opted-in -
Horton, Township of Opted-in -
North Frontenac, Township of Opted-in -
Machin, Township of Opted-in -
Englehart, Town of Opted-in -
Hastings Highlands, Municipality of Opted-in -
St. Catharines, City of Opted-in -
Southwest Middlesex, Municipality of Opted-in -
Cramahe, Township of Opted-in -
Prince Edward, County of Opted-in -
Montague, Township of Opted-in -
Huron East, Municipality of Opted-in -
Greater Madawaska, Township of Opted-in -


Was this page useful?

Please help us improve the AGCO website by responding to this survey