Info Bulletin No. 49 - Health and Safety Working Group Announcement

Information Bulletin
Horse Racing

Moving Ahead: Horse Racing Regulation in Ontario


September 15, 2017 – The Alcohol and Gaming Commission of Ontario (AGCO) announced its intent to establish the ‘Moving Ahead: Horse Racing Regulation in Ontario’ AGCO-Stakeholder Working Groups on February 21, 2017. The announcement included an open call to the horse racing industry to review and make recommendations for policy reform by participating in three working groups:

  • Equine Drug Program Working Group
  • Officiating Working Group
  • Health and Safety Working Group (Equine & Human).

The Equine Drug Program Working Group has met three times and will meet again shortly. The Officiating Working Group met four times between May and August and has now concluded.

The AGCO is now pleased to announce the names of the participants selected to sit on the Health and Safety Working Group.  Comprised of a broad range of industry positions, industry associations and licensees, as well as AGCO representatives, this group will participate in three to five meetings which will be held approximately once a month starting in September.

We look forward to starting this series of interesting and productive discussions with the following people:

Health and Safety Working Group
Academic/Equine Guelph
COSA Representative
Fort Erie Representative
Fort Erie Representative
HBPA Representative
Ontario Racing
Quarter Horse Owner/Trainer
Quarter Horse Representative
Racehorse Owner/Breeder
Racehorse Veterinarian
Racehorse Veterinarian
Racehorse Veterinarian
Racetrack Representative
Rehoming/Adoption Rep (SB)
Rehoming/Adoption Rep (TB)
Standardbred Breeder
Standardbred Canada
Standardbred Driver/Trainer
Standardbred Owner
Thoroughbred Jockey (former)
Thoroughbred Owner/Trainer
Gayle Ecker
Mark Horner
Jackie Eder
Tom Valiquette
Sue Leslie
Mike Chopowick
Gayle Sommer
Erik Lehtinen
Bob Broadstock
Chantelle Bourgeois
Elizabeth Spencer
Julie Ballinger
Victoria Banks
Karl Lagerborg
Joanne Colville (OSAS)
Vicki Pappas (LongRun)
Ann Straatman
Linda Bedard
Tony O'Sullivan
Mark Beaven
Rob Landry
Peter Berringer

The AGCO would once again like to extend its sincere appreciation to the many stakeholders and industry participants that have committed their time, effort, insights and energy to this project to date.

Updates and summary reports from the Working Groups, are posted when available, on the ‘Moving Ahead’ project page.

For more information, please contact