Ontario municipalities had a one-time option to opt-out of having cannabis retail stores in their communities. Municipalities had until January 22, 2019 to inform the AGCO if they wished to opt out. Municipalities that chose to opt out can opt back in at any time—but once they are in, they may no longer opt out.

If the AGCO did not received written notification from a municipality by January 22, 2019, then, by default, private cannabis retail stores will be allowed within that jurisdiction beginning April 1, 2019.

(required for opt-outs only)
Municipality Statussort ascending Date of resolution
Norwich, Township of Opted-out Thu, 01/10/2019
Plympton-Wyoming, Town of Opted-out Wed, 12/19/2018
Mapleton, Township of Opted-out Tue, 01/08/2019
Sables-Spanish Rivers, Township of Opted-out Wed, 12/19/2018
Chapple, Township of Opted-out Tue, 01/15/2019
Clearview, Township of Opted-out Mon, 01/07/2019
Highlands East, Municipality of Opted-in -
Madoc, Township of Opted-in -
Sault Ste. Marie, City of Opted-in -
Aylmer, Town of Opted-in -
South Glengarry, Township of Opted-in -
Whitchurch-Stouffville, Town of Opted-in -
Peterborough, City of Opted-in -
St. Joseph, Township of Opted-in -
Toronto, City of Opted-in -
McMurrich/Monteith, Township of Opted-in -
Port Hope, Municipality of Opted-in -
Algonquin Highlands, Township of Opted-in -
Middlesex Centre, Municipality of Opted-in -
Central Manitoulin, Municipality of Opted-in -


Was this page useful?

Please help us improve the AGCO website by responding to this survey