Ontario municipalities had a one-time option to opt-out of having cannabis retail stores in their communities. Municipalities had until January 22, 2019 to inform the AGCO if they wished to opt out. Municipalities that chose to opt out can opt back in at any time—but once they are in, they may no longer opt out.

If the AGCO did not received written notification from a municipality by January 22, 2019, then, by default, private cannabis retail stores will be allowed within that jurisdiction beginning April 1, 2019.

(required for opt-outs only)
Municipality Statussort ascending Date of resolution
Newmarket, Town of Opted-out Tue, 01/15/2019
Grimsby, Town of Opted-out Mon, 01/21/2019
Papineau-Cameron, Township of Opted-out Tue, 11/27/2018
Dorion, Township of Opted-out Tue, 12/18/2018
Amaranth, Township of Opted-out Wed, 01/16/2019
St. Clair, Township of Opted-out Tue, 01/08/2019
Machin, Township of Opted-in -
Mattice-Val Côté, Township of Opted-in -
Iroquois Falls, Town of Opted-in -
South Dundas, Municipality of Opted-in -
Hastings Highlands, Municipality of Opted-in -
Killaloe, Hagarty and Richards, Township of Opted-in -
Parry Sound, Town of Opted-in -
North Glengarry, Township of Opted-in -
Ottawa, City of Opted-in -
Belleville, City of Opted-in -
New Tecumseth, Town of Opted-in -
Kenora, City of Opted-in -
Woolwich, Township of Opted-in -
Kawartha Lakes, City of Opted-in -


Was this page useful?

Please help us improve the AGCO website by responding to this survey