Ontario municipalities have a one-time option to opt-out of having cannabis retail stores in their communities. Municipalities have until January 22, 2019 to inform the AGCO if they wish to opt out. Municipalities that choose to opt out can opt back in at any time—but once they are in, they may no longer opt out.

If the AGCO has not received written notification from a municipality by January 22, 2019, then, by default, private cannabis retail stores will be allowed within that jurisdiction beginning April 1, 2019.

Opt-out notifications must include:

  • the official name of the municipality
  • the date the resolution was passed.

If at any time before January 22, 2019, a municipality decides it will allow cannabis retail stores within its jurisdiction, the municipality is encouraged to formally notify the AGCO as soon as possible.

As municipalities provide this information, we will update the table below.

(required for opt-outs only)
Municipality Status Date of resolution
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Town of Opted-out Mon, 12/17/2018
Northern Bruce Peninsula, Municipality of Opted-out Mon, 12/03/2018
Norwich, Township of Opted-out Thu, 01/10/2019
Oakville, Town of Opted-out Mon, 01/14/2019
Oro-Medonte, Township of Opted-out Wed, 01/09/2019
Papineau-Cameron, Township of Opted-out Tue, 11/27/2018
Pickering, City of Opted-out Mon, 12/10/2018
Point Edward, Village of Opted-out Tue, 01/08/2019
Powassan, Municipality of Opted-out Tue, 12/18/2018
Richmond Hill, Town of Opted-out Tue, 01/08/2019
Sables-Spanish Rivers, Township of Opted-out Wed, 12/19/2018
Severn, Township of Opted-out Wed, 01/09/2019
Southgate, Township of Opted-out Wed, 12/19/2018
Southwold, Township of Opted-out Mon, 01/14/2019
St. Clair, Township of Opted-out Tue, 01/08/2019
Tay, Township of Opted-out Wed, 12/19/2018
Tecumseh, Town of Opted-out Tue, 12/11/2018
Temagami, Municipality of Opted-out Thu, 01/10/2019
Wainfleet, Township of Opted-out Tue, 01/08/2019
Wasaga Beach, Town of Opted-out Mon, 01/07/2019