Ontario municipalities had a one-time option to opt-out of having cannabis retail stores in their communities. Municipalities had until January 22, 2019 to inform the AGCO if they wished to opt out. Municipalities that chose to opt out can opt back in at any time—but once they are in, they may no longer opt out.

If the AGCO did not received written notification from a municipality by January 22, 2019, then, by default, private cannabis retail stores will be allowed within that jurisdiction beginning April 1, 2019.

(required for opt-outs only)
Municipality Status Date of resolutionsort descending
Cambridge, City of Opted-in -
Highlands East, Municipality of Opted-in -
Evanturel, Township of Opted-in -
South Huron, Municipality of Opted-in -
South-West Oxford, Township of Opted-in -
Gore Bay, Town of Opted-in -
Limerick, Township of Opted-in -
Gananoque, Town of Opted-in -
Champlain, Township of Opted-in -
Sundridge, Village of Opted-in -
Johnson, Township of Opted-in -
Laird, Township of Opted-in -
Alnwick/Haldimand, Township of Opted-in -
South Glengarry, Township of Opted-in -
Perry, Township of Opted-in -
Neebing, Municipality of Opted-in -
Wellington North, Township of Opted-in -
Schreiber, Township of Opted-in -
Penetanguishene, Town of Opted-in -
Perth, Town of Opted-in -


Was this page useful?

Please help us improve the AGCO website by responding to this survey