List of Ontario municipalities prohibiting or allowing cannabis retail stores

View a list showing which cities and towns in Ontario either allow or ban cannabis retail stores.

Ontario municipalities had a one-time option to opt-out of having cannabis retail stores in their communities. Municipalities had until January 22, 2019 to inform the AGCO if they wished to opt out. Municipalities that chose to opt out can opt back in at any time—but once they are in, they may no longer opt out.

If the AGCO did not received written notification from a municipality by January 22, 2019, then, by default, private cannabis retail stores will be allowed within that jurisdiction beginning April 1, 2019.

Municipality Status Date of resolution
Augusta, Township of Opted-in
Aurora, Town of Opted-in
Aylmer, Town of Opted-in
Baldwin, Township of Opted-out
Bancroft, Town of Opted-in
Barrie, City of Opted-in
Bayham, Municipality of Opted-in
Beckwith, Township of Opted-out
Belleville, City of Opted-in
Billings, Township of Opted-in
Black River-Matheson, Township of Opted-in
Blandford-Blenheim, Township of Opted-out
Blind River, Town of Opted-in
Bluewater, Municipality of Opted-out
Bonfield, Township of Opted-in
Bonnechere Valley, Township of Opted-in
Bracebridge, Town of Opted-in
Bradford West Gwillimbury, Town of Opted-in
Brampton, City of Opted-in
Brant, County of Opted-in