Ontario municipalities had a one-time option to opt-out of having cannabis retail stores in their communities. Municipalities had until January 22, 2019 to inform the AGCO if they wished to opt out. Municipalities that chose to opt out can opt back in at any time—but once they are in, they may no longer opt out.

If the AGCO did not received written notification from a municipality by January 22, 2019, then, by default, private cannabis retail stores will be allowed within that jurisdiction beginning April 1, 2019.

(required for opt-outs only)
Municipality Status Date of resolutionsort descending
Uxbridge, Township of Opted-in -
Minto, Town of Opted-in -
Callander, Municipality of Opted-in -
O'Connor, Township of Opted-in -
Lakeshore, Town of Opted-in -
Augusta, Township of Opted-in -
Terrace Bay, Township of Opted-in -
Brockville, City of Opted-in -
Nairn and Hyman, Township of Opted-in -
Strathroy-Caradoc, Municipality of Opted-in -
Blind River, Town of Opted-in -
Lambton Shores, Municipality of Opted-in -
Scugog, Township of Opted-in -
Port Colborne, City of Opted-in -
Northeastern Manitoulin and The Islands, Town of Opted-in -
Leeds and the Thousand Islands, Township of Opted-in -
Greenstone, Municipality of Opted-in -
Renfrew, Town of Opted-in -
Bayham, Municipality of Opted-in -
Gananoque, Town of Opted-in -


Was this page useful?

Please help us improve the AGCO website by responding to this survey