Ontario municipalities had a one-time option to opt-out of having cannabis retail stores in their communities. Municipalities had until January 22, 2019 to inform the AGCO if they wished to opt out. Municipalities that chose to opt out can opt back in at any time—but once they are in, they may no longer opt out.

If the AGCO did not received written notification from a municipality by January 22, 2019, then, by default, private cannabis retail stores will be allowed within that jurisdiction beginning April 1, 2019.

(required for opt-outs only)
Municipality Statussort descending Date of resolution
Athens, Township of Opted-in -
South Glengarry, Township of Opted-in -
Whitchurch-Stouffville, Town of Opted-in -
St. Joseph, Township of Opted-in -
Toronto, City of Opted-in -
McMurrich/Monteith, Township of Opted-in -
Highlands East, Municipality of Opted-in -
Madoc, Township of Opted-in -
Cornwall, City of Opted-in -
Sioux Lookout, Municipality of Opted-in -
Ryerson, Township of Opted-in -
South Bruce Peninsula, Town of Opted-in -
Burk's Falls, Village of Opted-in -
Chatham-Kent, Municipality of Opted-in -
Algonquin Highlands, Township of Opted-in -
Middlesex Centre, Municipality of Opted-in -
Puslinch, Township of Opted-in -
Wainfleet, Township of Opted-out Tue, 01/08/2019
Chapleau, Township of Opted-out Mon, 01/14/2019
Matachewan, Township of Opted-out Thu, 01/17/2019


Was this page useful?

Please help us improve the AGCO website by responding to this survey