Ontario municipalities had a one-time option to opt-out of having cannabis retail stores in their communities. Municipalities had until January 22, 2019 to inform the AGCO if they wished to opt out. Municipalities that chose to opt out can opt back in at any time—but once they are in, they may no longer opt out.

If the AGCO did not received written notification from a municipality by January 22, 2019, then, by default, private cannabis retail stores will be allowed within that jurisdiction beginning April 1, 2019.

(required for opt-outs only)
Municipality Statussort descending Date of resolution
Caledon, Town of Opted-out Tue, 01/22/2019
Whitby, Town of Opted-out Mon, 01/21/2019
Southgate, Township of Opted-out Wed, 12/19/2018
Tyendinaga, Township of Opted-out Fri, 01/11/2019
Markham, City of Opted-out Wed, 12/12/2018
Temagami, Municipality of Opted-out Thu, 01/10/2019
Point Edward, Village of Opted-out Tue, 01/08/2019
Erin, Town of Opted-out Wed, 12/05/2018
Oakville, Town of Opted-out Mon, 01/14/2019
James, Township of Opted-out Thu, 01/10/2019
Richmond Hill, Town of Opted-out Tue, 01/08/2019
Adjala-Tosorontio, Township of Opted-out Mon, 12/10/2018
Mono, Town of Opted-out Tue, 01/08/2019
Pickle Lake, Township of Opted-out Wed, 01/09/2019
Brudenell, Lyndoch and Raglan, Township of Opted-out Wed, 01/09/2019
McGarry, Township of Opted-out Tue, 01/08/2019
Wasaga Beach, Town of Opted-out Mon, 01/07/2019
Muskoka Lakes, Township of Opted-out Fri, 01/18/2019
Melancthon, Township of Opted-out Thu, 12/20/2018
Blandford-Blenheim, Township of Opted-out Wed, 12/19/2018

Pages

Was this page useful?

Please help us improve the AGCO website by responding to this survey