Ontario municipalities had a one-time option to opt-out of having cannabis retail stores in their communities. Municipalities had until January 22, 2019 to inform the AGCO if they wished to opt out. Municipalities that chose to opt out can opt back in at any time—but once they are in, they may no longer opt out.

If the AGCO did not received written notification from a municipality by January 22, 2019, then, by default, private cannabis retail stores will be allowed within that jurisdiction beginning April 1, 2019.

(required for opt-outs only)
Municipality Statussort descending Date of resolution
Dutton/Dunwich, Municipality of Opted-in -
North Stormont, Township of Opted-in -
Peterborough, City of Opted-in -
Bruce Mines, Town of Opted-in -
Port Hope, Municipality of Opted-in -
Seguin, Township of Opted-in -
Sault Ste. Marie, City of Opted-in -
Schreiber, Township of Opted-in -
West Grey, Municipality of Opted-in -
Plummer Additional, Township of Opted-in -
Gore Bay, Town of Opted-in -
Alberton, Township of Opted-in -
Woodstock, City of Opted-in -
Dysart, Dudley, Harcourt, Guilford, Harburn, Bruton, Havelock, Eyre and Clyde, United Townships of Opted-in -
Central Manitoulin, Municipality of Opted-in -
South Huron, Municipality of Opted-in -
Deseronto, Town of Opted-in -
North Kawartha, Township of Opted-in -
Horton, Township of Opted-in -
North Frontenac, Township of Opted-in -


Was this page useful?

Please help us improve the AGCO website by responding to this survey